Hoosier Canoe & Kayak Club

CANCELED DUE TO STORMS 300 Springs, Green River, Kentucky

  • 23 Jun 2018
  • 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
  • Green River, Munfordville, KY

Registration is closed

** CANCELED DUE TO STORMS ***

90% CHANCE OF STORMS ON FRIDAY, 50% CHANCE ON SATURDAY, AND 80% CHANCE ON SUNDAY.  THE CHANCE ON SATURDAY KEEPS INCREASING.  I NEED TO MAKE THIS CALL NOW SINCE A FEW OF US PLANNED ON LEAVING EARLY FRIDAY.  I WILL TRY TO RE-SCHEDULE THIS TRIP LATER IN THE YEAR.

300 Springs Green River KY

Sponsor: Natalie Needham

Come join us and explore a river section that's one of the Green River’s best kept secrets.  There are several natural springs and waterfalls along this beautiful stretch of river. Saturday will be a long paddle at about 20 miles, so plan on about a 7-8 hour paddle including breaks.

 Saturday, June 23:  9 AM EDT : We will meet at the Five Star Foodmart 1301 Main St, Munfordville, KY 42765 at 9AM eastern time (8AM central) and promptly leave for the put-in at 9:15AM EDT (8:15AM CDT).  The put-in is at Lynn Camp Creek, off of State Highway 566. Take out will be H.H.Wilson Park, off state highway 2185  (820 Munfordville-Linwood Rd, Munfordville, KY 42765)  This is a good beginner’s paddle as there aren’t very many snags to negotiate or any portaging necessary. However, this is a long paddle and there are no easy ways to get off the river. You must determine if your physical shape is up for a long paddle. This paddle is also very flow dependent. If the flow is low, we will find somewhere else to paddle, so stay flexible. There is no fun in dragging boats for 20 miles. Locals say 3.5 ft. on the Munfordville gage is pretty much the minimum for a good trip.  There are camping grounds nearby at Horse Cave and Mammoth Cave National Park. I’ll be staying at MCNP campground beginning on Friday if anyone would like to share sites. Things to bring: pfd, paddle, lunch, beverages, lots of water, sunscreen, sunglasses, snacks, sense of adventure, and a sense of humor. 

 Sunday, June 24 - Optional / Bonus - Sunday will be a nice 5-mile paddle on the way home. There are also several springs along this stretch. We will meet at the take out from Saturday’s trip (H.H. Wilson Park) at 12PM EDT (11AM CDT) and then proceed to the take out at Big Buffalo Crossing Canoe (100 River Rd, Munfordville, KY 42765)   Please message me if you have any questions or comments about the trip at nataliehcckayak@gmail.com with 300 Springs as the subject or 317-840-4507 

Please RSVP about the campsite by the 21st of June.



Hoosier Canoe & Kayak Club

Background image provided by Karl Zemlin www.zemlinphoto.com

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software